The Year of Living Dangerously by Peter Weir

8 Dec

The Year of Living Dangerously was an interesting movie about journalists working in Indonesia during the overthrow of President Sukarno.  Even though this is a different country the movie reminded me of my parent’s experiences from the Vietnam War and the spread of communism at the time.  I found Linda Hunt’s character to be very interesting and I wondered why they cast her for the role of Billy Kwan, which she won an Oscar that year for.  I also was somewhat confused as to her relationship with the Indonesian mother and child with whom he would visit and give money to.  Was the young boy Billy’s?  The Year of Living Dangerously points out the often overlooked and dangerous jobs journalists have when they are overseas cover wars, especially in places with great political unrest.  Overall, I thought the movie was good and like I mentioned before sort of summoned a sense of nostalgia for my parent’s own stories.

Leave a Reply

